Headphones ahoy!

I first started listening to headphones around 20 years ago. I was living with my parents and I did not have room for big speakers, I couldn’t afford to buy really good ones and I couldn’t play music on speakers when I wanted to anyway. Headphones wasn’t really a choice but a necessity at that point if I wanted to listen to music. I got a good pair of Sennheiser headphones for my birthday when I turned 15 and quickly noticed that they sounded much better than the speakers I could afford at the time (I actually still use them for my computer).

This realisation meant that when I first started building DIY audio stuff, headphone amp designs were an obvious choice because of their simplicity and ease of building and the first DIY audio forums that I started frequenting on the internet were also headphone-related, mainly headwize.com (which is now defunct as a discussion forum) and head-fi.org (which is still very active and has thousands of members worldwide).

Fast forward to the present and although I don’t really need headphones anymore at home, they are still an indispensable part of my audio and DIY hobby. In fact I have already got a sizable collection of headphones for virtually all imaginable occasions and uses, so I need another pair about as much as a goldfish needs a new bicycle ๐Ÿ™‚ However, just because I don’t need more headphones doesn’t mean that I can’t trick myself into buying another pair occasionally and that’s exactly what I did now ๐Ÿ˜€

As with most of my audio-related spending the cost per purchase seems to be going steadily up and this time is no exception – it’s a pair of Beyerdynamic T1s. This is Beyer’s range topping model and although I found a good offer from Amazon to ease the pain a little they are still priced at an absolutely eyewatering sum considering it is a pair of headphonesโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ™‚ The T1 is a semi-open, high impedance (600 ohm) design. The high impedance means that an amplifier is mandatory, but that’s obviously just an excuse to build a couple of more of those so that’s fine ๐Ÿ˜‰

Sound quality out of the box is very good, comfort is quite good although these are (as noted in several reviews) pretty heavy. Build quality is excellent but more in a “solid engineering” way than the “pure luxury” way of some of the competition though: The cable is a standard Sommer cable and the plug is a standard Neutrik – very good, but not especially luxurious. More impressions coming in due course, but right now I imagine I’ll be listening to these quite happily for a long time (while browsing the Stax range of electrostatic headphones obviously ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

t1-1

One Response to Headphones ahoy!

  1. Pingback: Another upgrade… | theslowdiyer

Leave a Reply

