Use and misuse…

EDIT: The seller has responded and I received a perfectly reasonable explanation (getting rid of surplus boards) so I am happy 🙂

******************************************

I was browsing ebay for some power supply boards this morning, and much to my surprise (intially at least) I found one that looked extremely familiar: ebay-clone It’s actually a rip-off of my “ManyCaps” PSU layout and from what I can see the only change from the version I posted here is that my copyright-notice has been removed… Now, I know that noone is going to get rich selling PCBs at $4.50 each, but I still would have appreciated a note asking for permission and maybe a note of thanks on the boards – especially as this isn’t some Chinese hole-in-the-wall shop, but a longtime DIYaudio member who really should know better 😦 Oh well, I guess this was bound to happen at some point – I’ll send him a note and we’ll see what happens…

5 Responses to Use and misuse…

  1. This is so not cool :(. It would have taken him just a few minutes to contact you. And removing your name just adds insult to injury.

  2. Agree. This is the kind of action that slowly poisons the DIY community.

  3. Very glad it worked out well in the end!

  4. koogar says:

    I can feel your pain! (I am also a diyAudio member)

    Glad you concerns were malign

    I was on eBay and found my encapsulated amp for sale, they even used the pictures from my blog for the advert. I emailed eBay numerous times and they still wouldn’t take it down. yet I use the words ” As new” and they retract your ad 🙂

    http://runawaybrainz.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/audio-crystal-cmoy-freeform-headphone.html

    Great blog by the way… Found you on google looking for LM1875 designs 🙂

    • theslowdiyer says:

      Thanks, as mentioned in the edit this was resolved to my satisfaction but I realise not everyone will be that lucky.

      Thanks for the kind words as well, but if you are the original creator of that CMoy then I think I should be the one to give compliments – that is a very impressive project 🙂

      /U.

Leave a Reply

