Back from Canjam…

Yes, I have returned from the CanJam meet in London! (see previous post). Overall a very good experience – although it was my first show/meet of this type. I met quite a few interesting people and had some good discussions with fellow hifi-nuts. As always, the enthusiasm clearly shines through (as is the case with any hobby I guess?). I also thought (and that might just be me) that it looked like a more diverse crowd than what I typically see at audio shows – not surprising as such, but just enough to be noticeable πŸ™‚

I brought the camera, but there were so many other people with cameras that I only managed a few shots before putting it away. If you want to see what went on, check out the official head-fi β€œmeet-thread” for pictures etc. instead.

As expected there were quite a lot of interesting new products to see, touch and try, but I managed to get out with my credit cards (relatively) unharmed – at least for now πŸ˜€ Best sound of the show for me was definitely the combination of the Stax SR-009 electrostatic headphones and the Headamp β€œBlue Hawaii SE” tube amplifier as pictured below. This is a killer setup – unfortunately with an equally killer price tag.

The most annoying thing was probably that I’ve never listened to the SR-009s before and I was a bit surprised at how big a step up from the SR-007s that I own they represent. That does not bode well for whenever I decide to go to Japan again πŸ˜€

Looking forward to next year’s CanJam because if my schedule allows I will definitely be there! πŸ™‚

One Response to Back from Canjam…

  1. Asger Nielsen says:

    Auditioned the sr009 and BHSE ar the show in new port last week. Best setup I have experienced – WoW is all I can say. Mrspeakers has prototype electrostatic headphone that was very nice also.

Leave a Reply

