Past projects: Old ICEpower Amps…

I’ve built quite a few ICEpower amplifiers over the years, but many of them were built and sold before I started this blog. Recently I actually saw an amp for sale that I am pretty sure I built and so I started looking to see if I had any pictures of these amplifiers. Mostly I don’t, but I did manage to find a few:

The first amp is a small amp based on a 200ASC-module with a 200AC hanger. Unlike the ASP and A-series, the amplifier sections on the AC/ASC are the same so it is possible to build a (deceptively compact) stereo amplifier this way. I used this amplifier in my office system before I eventually replaced it with the B1/125ASX combo.

The second amp is a full-size amp based on 2 pcs. 1000ASP-modules. At the time, this was intended to be my own reference amp, but firstly I preferred the sound of the 500ASPs I were using before and secondly I got a very good offer on it so I decided to sell it soon afterwards.

The last amp is a three-channel model with a single 500ASP and a pair of 200AC hangers. The amplifier I used for a couple of years to power the center and rear channels. As the front amplifier I had two stereo amplifiers with dual 500ASPs wired in bi-amp mode, which made for a very compact surround system with plenty of power – around 3kW into 4Ohms – on tap :D. I eventually sold all these amps and started using the 6-channel 50ASX instead.

Leave a Reply

