More ATtiny experiments…

Since I managed to breathe life into my ATtiny-based speaker delay project I’ve been working on more ATtiny-based boards. There are many potential applications I can see (if I look hard enough…) for a small SW-based controller and that is what I’ve tried to build. The hardware was done a while ago, but the software was lagging (and still is somewhat).

I also received my TinyLoadr programmer a few weeks ago and it was definitely worth the wait. I’ve mounted the board to a piece of aluminium to keep it stable and now its more or less a perfect tool – very highly recommended if you want to play with ATtinys!!

To speed up my development cycle I’ve build a prototyping setup with a ZIF-socket and a solderless breadboard. I’m not a fan of solderless breadboards in general, but they do have their occasional uses and this would be one of them. I bought a few small ZIF-sockets from ebay and together with the tinyloadr programmer they make up an excellent prototyping platform. Swapping ICs from one ZIF to the other is still a bit of an annoyance, but it’s far more flexible than the alternative 🙂

If you need more memory space (or more I/O-pins) than the ATTinys can provide then I am also working on an update of my AmpDuino-concept. This will be a fully-fledged controller based on a stand-alone ATmega-chip that can do the same as the old version AmpDuino, but in a more optimised way. Connections etc. will be laid out for what I consider to be typical audio applications. ETA is, as always when there is software involved, unknown 😀

Leave a Reply

