A real Ba****d – Part 2

Second part of my “rework” of the old “The Bastard” – the RIAA-stage. The first was the tube-based line stage which you can see in one of my previous posts and there you can also find a link to the original article from a (long gone) Danish magazine.

This is a discrete solid-state RIAA stage based on fairly standard BC5xx-transistors. I know virtually nothing about RIAA-designs, toplogies, correction curves etc. so I will not comment on that and all I have done is to lay out a new PCB in Eagle. My enclosure parts for this build are currently on order, so I have only managed to listen very briefly to the board but it does sound promising I have to say :). Once it is built I will be listening further and comparing it against the Retro as well (in an “old-versus-new-technology” shootout :D).

11 Responses to A real Ba****d – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Project files: The Bas***ds | theslowdiyer

  2. lan lan says:

    Hello, can you mark the voltage at each point in the circuit?

  3. lan lan says:

    I want to know the operating voltage at each point in the circuit

    • theslowdiyer says:

      OK, that’s unfortunately not something I can offer to do for you. If you plug the circuit it into a simulator program then I think that should tell you everything you need to know.

  4. Branko Tokic says:

    Any info on the Ba***rd to Retro comparison?
    thx

Leave a comment