New PassDIY headphone amp…

One of the (few) PCB-projects that I have been able to spend time lately on is a version of a new PassDIY headphone amp developed by Wayne Colburn. I’ve been looking at this from when it was first posted (after all, most diy’ers watch with interest when Nelson and his gang are up to something new 🙂 ) When the design was finally released a few months ago and Wayne started offering boards I didn’t jump on it immediately though.

First off all there was a question of cost – paying $35 in shipping for $25 worth of PCB is a bit annoying although I probably would have survived that. Secondly, the “all-in-one” form factor has some very obvious benefits, but also some significant drawbacks to me. You’re generally tied to one particular chassis, one particular transformer, one specific potentiometer etc. and I wanted more flexibility.

So instead of getting a ready-made board I started thinking about making a more flexible version by splitting the board up into smaller sections – two mono amplifier channels and a separate supply board to which you need to add a separate volume control and a separate transformer. The design is simple and so there were no major issues and my protoype fortunately worked the first time.

As usual I have only done quick bench testing right now, but the design seems to be solid (no doubt more to the designer’s credit than mine 😀 ). There is no DC-offset worth mentioning although it spikes a little when you turn the power off, and even in a “birds nest” test setup with wires all over the place, the amp was completely silent. As far as I can see, the bias is spot on and stable as well.

Project files coming in a few weeks when I’ve had time to compile them 🙂 In the mean time, you can still get the original boards through the thread and the original Gerbers are there as well if you want to get your own boards made instead.

8 Responses to New PassDIY headphone amp…

  1. ksjung88 says:

    It’s really awesome…I do acknowledge and respect the intention of original design, but I also prefer more flexibility on condition that there is not much difference in performance. Tied to daily lives, I come here to get kind of vicarious satisfaction. =) Unlike your other articles, there is no Gerber in this post. I anticipate for the day I can try this wonderful piece some day soon. Thanks for the post.

  2. Where is the link to purchase the PCB? I searched the forum and cannot find an actual link?

    • theslowdiyer says:

      Hi Chris. No direct link that I know of. Until the boards are available in the diyaudio store (which the thread says they will be), I think you need to send Wayne an email directly.

  3. Pingback: Project files: PassHP headphone amp | theslowdiyer

  4. deltalight says:

    So, Wayne tells us in his Burning Amp 2017 talk on this headphone amp that the outputs are not critical i.e. you can use MOSFETS or BDW94CFP/BDW94CFP Darlingtons. Have you tried the Darlingtons yet?

    • theslowdiyer says:

      No, I’ve only tried the 2SK2013/2SJ313 for now as I already had those. If I were to try something else it would be a bog-standard pair of IRF610/9610 because they are far easier to get. Much of the appeal of this circuit to me is that you can build it without “exotic” parts 🙂

  5. Pingback: Reworking the ACP+… | theslowdiyer

Leave a comment