Building a different F5…

As I have mentioned a few times, the First Watt F5 is one of my favourite amplifier designs (and of course I am not the only one who likes it). It’s very simple to build, it’s reasonably priced and it sounds exceptionally good. The only drawbacks are the heat and the relatively low power (which is why I sold my original build), but with both new speakers and a new room comes new opportunities so I wanted to try the design again.

I actually have a few F5 clone boards more or less done, but that’s a story for another time because the original F5 design has spawned a few variations. One of them by diyaudio-user Juma is based on using several smaller output devices in the form of Toshiba 2SK2013/2SJ313 (which of course are obsolete…). For reasons I don’t really pretend to understand these devices are very linear and so the sound of this F5-version should be even more special – we’ll see about that I guess.

I’ve looked at this particular F5-design before and it’s not exactly new, but sometime you have to wait a (long) while for inspiration to strike and in this case it only did a few weeks ago, so the finished boards turned up only this week.

My version has four device pairs in the output to allow a bit more idle current for low-impedance loads. Also included is some additional rail capacitance close to the outputs (mostly because it seemed wasteful not to use the board space for anything), but otherwise it is that same as Jumas original circuit. I’ve only bench-tested it for now and I can’t do proper trimming of idle current and offset until I’ve drilled some heatsinks to mount the board on, but it powers up like an F5 and it responds to the trimpots, so hopefully it should adjust properly when the time comes. For now I’m just excited to have gotten it this far 😀

13 Responses to Building a different F5…

  1. Keith says:

    Very nice

  2. Pingback: Building an(other) F5… | theslowdiyer

  3. Dave Lee says:

    that’s a really simple looking board :O

  4. Fery Novianto says:

    very nice , may i see the schematic / layout this amp .? thanks.

  5. wg45 says:

    I know this is an old post but did you ever try the different F5? I’ve read the Juma thread and it seems like a nice version of the F5 to try.

    I’ve got a bunch of 2sk2013 and 2sj313 rattling around in my parts box.

    • theslowdiyer says:

      Well yes and no. I’ve tried it and it works well and sounds great to me. What I haven’t tried is a more controlled comparison against the original F5-version. My current speakers aren’t really happy with a small class A amp and I am even thinking of going active speakers at some point. If you have the parts and can use a small-ish class A amp though, then I still think it’s worth going for.

      • wg45 says:

        Thanks! Is there a schematic or gerber file available for your board design?

        I understand it is slightly different from the Juma schematic.

        • theslowdiyer says:

          Thought I had published those files, but it seems not – I’ll get to that asap then! My changes to Juma’s schematic are very small: Apart from the fourth pair of FETs it’s just a different PSU cap arrangement to make use of the space on the PCB and then the added power LEDs – nothing really significant.

  6. Pingback: Project files: A different F5… | theslowdiyer

Leave a comment